Home > Bangsaku, Life Notes, Sharing > Affirmative Action and the reality of the Malays

Affirmative Action and the reality of the Malays

I am grateful to admit that I am one of the beneficiaries of the affirmative action.

I was raised in a rural area in the east coast of peninsular Malaysia, surrounded by oil palm plantation where about 80% of the populations are Felda settlers. Life was simple back then. After my primary school, based on the 4A’s result in the UPSR, I was offered a place in a boarding school in Pengkalan Chepa, Kelantan.

The boarding school experiences really changed me as a person. It was then that I discovered my potential, explored my abilities and exposed to the reality that I was facing and shaped my ambition. I managed to get 10 A’s in the SPM, which was quite an achievement back then. When I collected the result, a classmate whom I will forever be indebted for gave me a crumpled newpaper advertisement of a convertible study loan program offered by Petronas, in which his result did not make the minimum requirement.

I filled in the crumpled newspaper advertisement and sent it via snail mail through the small post office (it was called “wakil pos” those time) in my home town where the postal service was not very reliable. I was called to the structured interviews few months later and soon found my way to KDU for my foundation studies.

My KDU experience was a cultural shock for a kampung boy. Most of the students and lecturers were Chinese and the environment was very different to my upbringing. The short six months passed very soon and with the intensive nature of the course, there were not much interaction with other people around me.

Time flies and my foundation studies result enabled me to study Chemical Engineering at University of Melbourne. My experiences living abroad enabled me to see Malaysia from a third party perspective. It was then that I got to know many Chinese friends who were being sponsored by their parents, and made me reflect that I would never be able to study abroad using my parent’s money, since we struggled to meet ends need all the while. It was then that I was really impressed with a Malaysian Chinese friend who had to work hard to earn a living, while also studying. I was impressed to know that his parents owned a small sundry shop in a village in Johore and was able to send their son overseas for study. At the same time, I got to know some friends whom happened to be a sons or daughters of ministers, MPs, Datuks and other professionals whom are studying abroad on scholarship. How unfair those things were.

I went back to join Petronas as an engineer. It was an enriching experience in which I felt very accomplished, that I came a long way from a kampung boy from a rural area to now working with Fortune 500 Company in a high tech Oil & Gas facility, and later moved to KLCC. I worked with people from various backgrounds and nationalities and the feeling that we can compete at the highest level, giving instructions to the “Mat Saleh” was an accomplishment. It was like living in my own world, far away from the reality.

I was brought back to reality when later I joined Felda, which enabled me to see what is really happening on the ground. That was the time that I realised that I was living in an exclusive world, whereas many of the people especially Malays are still living just as what I saw when I was a kid in my rural hometown. Not much have changed for them. Many of my friends, whom I considered bright, whom I used to compete with in my primary school, never reached SPM. Many dropped out, whilst some struggled to make a living.

Living those experiences, really make me reflect on myself when I was faced with the question of should the Malaysian government policy that favour the bumiputera over others should really stays. On one hand, I realised that the system was there for so long that abuse are rampant. On the other hand, removing all those benefits will mean that people like me will never be who I am today. For a rural kid like me, access to facilities and opportunities will never be equivalent to those living in the city from wealthy families where opportunities can be created with the money in hand.

At the time that people including those whom were the beneficiaries of this policy are calling for absolute equalities, doing away with the racial-based policy, I am convinced that there is a need for change in the implementation of such policy; however, scrapping away all those affirmative action for me is never an option.

I would like to call other beneficiaries of the affirmative action like me to really reflect whether:

  • Is it fair that after all that you have got through this policy, then you say that it can be scrapped now?
  • Is it fair that after the policy brought so much change to you, you don’t even recognize the policy and condemn the affirmative action as unjust and unfair?
  • Is it fair after all those help being extended to you, you just live for your own sake, and never bother to extend your hand to help your own race?
  • Is it fair that after you have been helped, then you expect your daughters and sons to be continued to be helped later in their life?

Whatever happened after PRU13, I pray that the Malays and Bumiputeras especially those in dire need will continue to be assisted so that one day, the nation’s wealth can be trully shared and enjoyed. The assistance may not only be in material form, but more on instilling the self-belief, motivation and sense of purpose.

I pray that the malay would not be marginalised in our own land.

*************************************************************************************************************

Tn Syed Akbar Ali (http://syedsoutsidethebox.blogspot.ca/) was kind enough to share my piece, and here are the comments generated at his blog.

65 comments:
Anonymous said…
melayu yang pilih untuk jadi malas! free country mah, pilahan melayu…. MALAS! not everyone lah, mosttly …
Thursday, May 23, 2013 1:03:00 PM

Ir. Hanafi Ali said…
My SPM aggregate (1988) was 13 units, scorings 2s for Fizik/Kimia/Biologi, 1 and 3 for Modern and Additional Maths. Why I mentioned that? Because there are strings of my classmates who scored better than me for their SPM but couldn’t get the opportunity that I got. If it were to be purely based on meritocracy, I would not have gone to USA to get my engineering degree under my late father’s Customs officer pension of 500 ringgit a month.
Thursday, May 23, 2013 1:20:00 PM

Anonymous said…
As i said before, no issue with NEP, no issue with helping the Poor but in my opinion, there must be timeline.
Go work in Brunei, indonesia, US, Australia etc, there ‘s no NEP there, You must be able to compete evenly and fairly with everybody.
Thursday, May 23, 2013 1:22:00 PM

Anonymous said…
The issue is UMNO. UMNO needs to reform. Similar story … I know this son of politician who was on government scholarship studying political science …huh … what the hell … this bugger is driving a cadillac and having mat salleh girlfriend.
UMNO, UMNO, UMNO …. dammit. Betraying the malays. I think we should blame UMNO if they refuse to reform. Sampai bila kita nak sokong mereka berdasarkan kepentingan melayu kalau pemimpin UMNO keeps on misplacing our trusts.
Muhyiddin please. I trust him more than Najib apologist cina.
Thursday, May 23, 2013 1:52:00 PM

Anonymous said…
wow nice post!!
True also
Non-malay
Thursday, May 23, 2013 2:11:00 PM

Anonymous said…
“I was brought back to reality when later I joined Felda” … the reality in Petronas?
Thursday, May 23, 2013 2:21:00 PM

Anonymous said…
“I pray that the Malay would not be marginalised in our own land.”
Amin.
The kacang lupakan kulit are the ones giving a hand to the chinese to block the required assistance to the rural bright Malays like yourself.
The chinese MUST accept that this affirmative policy is responsible for the lasting peace and stability.
The majority Malays have been lulled by this very policy. If it had not been implemented, there might be chaos and suspicions amongst the races – much like what is happening now post PRU13.
This is what DAP ignored – the broken faith in a multiracial society where ONLY one race is wealthy.
That situation invites instability as can be seen in the Indon riots against their chinese citizens.
Thursday, May 23, 2013 2:22:00 PM

cannonkapit said…
Congratulation young man.Your early experience reminds me of the yesteryear – back in the late 60s n 70s.
I was a Primary 6 pupil when Malaysia was formed.Back then Sarawak (where I came from)was still colonised by the British.We paid a dollar for our monthly school fees.Text books weren’t free then.The condition remained the same when I was doing my secondary education.The monthly fee of RM14-RM20 was a dent in every daddy’s pocket.Lives were hard.A family with 5 school going kids suffered more than a smaller family.But my late father managed to send all his 6 kids to school.(No Felda in my kampung).
Like you sdr. I’m very thankful to our govt.There’re weaknesses in its policies though.But the “affirmative” policies must not be done away with.The Malays and other bumiputera still need a “bread n butter” approach of the govt.
Enjoy your life young man,while u can.At the same time give ample time too for your kindred n kampung folks.
Thursday, May 23, 2013 2:32:00 PM

Anonymous said…
Yang melayu kelulusan sekolah asrama buat la persatuan dan tolong balik orang melayu
Thursday, May 23, 2013 2:41:00 PM

Anonymous said…
50 years later, still belum dapat target, i think another 100 years, still belum, politicians will make it relevant, otherwise hilang votes.Still many poor found in rural East coast malaysia after so many years of NEP, whereas the cronies are getting richer and richer.What happen, bro!
Nice one!!!, daughters and son of Datok,MPs, Ministers getting scholarship…distribution of scholarship gone awry??, u think fair!!!
Thursday, May 23, 2013 3:01:00 PM

Anonymous said…
Saya bumiputra bukan melayu. Saya tengah simpan duit untuk pendidikan anak saya, kerana takut walaupun anak saya dapat keputusan cemerlang, dia mungkin tak dapat masuk universiti tempatan atau dapat biasiswa, kerana melayu akan diutamakan walaupun keputusannya tak sebagus anak saya. Saya akan didik anak-anak saya supaya berdikari dan bekerja keras. Biar anak-anak saya ada kualiti.
Thursday, May 23, 2013 3:05:00 PM

Anonymous said…
No azran osman rani this guy.
Anon 1:03 – donno if you r a malay or what? Whatever, its better for you to keep your mouth shut and not patronize the malays. This country will remain free if theres less animosities between the races. Not badmouthing one another should go a long way towards that.
Thursday, May 23, 2013 3:15:00 PM

Anonymous said…
Lovely post En Zaman.
I do believe such policies should remain. The benefits are many-fold in lifting the Malays out of poverty. But like many comments here; the policies can be badly implemented or abused.
I think we need more recipients such as En Zaman to communicate their experiences. Success stories or not.
Chinaman KL
Thursday, May 23, 2013 3:23:00 PM

tsyhll said…
Meritocracy to me is like trying to fit a square peg in a round hole.
The method that works just fine with Chinese, may not work with Malay.
We are wired differently.
Thursday, May 23, 2013 3:33:00 PM

Anonymous said…
Saya orang cina berasal dari Keluang. Parents saya tanam sayur dan jual di pasar. I have 4 siblings and am the eldest.
Masa sekolah saya masuk dalam kategori org miskin. Bekal ke sekolah saya beri pada adik2 saya yg kecil. Sekolah lama saya, Cannossian Convent (tahun 1986), ada bagi khas makanan percuma pada anak2 miskin. Tapi malangnya saya tak dapat. Yg dapat hanya org Melayu kampung. I have no choice but to stay hungry during recess. Balik baru makan.
Walaupon kami susah, saya berjaya dapat Grade 1 SPM dgn aggregate 12. Lepas itu saya dapat offer buat dentistry di Australia. Akhirnya saya berjaya dan buka klinik gigi di PJ.
Bapa saya tak ada duit nak bayar. Dia sampai kena pinjam bank dan cagar tanah kebun dan bayar ansuran sampailah dia mati. Ibu saya kena jual sayur di pasar dan kadang2 tak cukup utk hantar duit kpd saya. Di Sydney saya kerja waitress dan kadang2 kerja as parking counter girl samapai larut malam sbb nak tambah duit. Adik saya berhenti sekolah tolong ibu. Kami tak ada sumber lain. JPA reject application saya. Mara hanya untuk org Melayu. Org cina macam kami sebenarnya lagi susah nak hidup.
Siapa yg kata semua cina banyak duit dan kaya??
Beza kami dgn org melayu susah yg lain adalah kami tak bising2 dan merayu2. Kami cari jalan utk keluar dari masalah sendiri. Kerja kuat dan focus pada apa yg kita buat utk dapat duit. Tapi kami org cina tak pernah patah semangat. Kami jadi makin kuat. Kami jadi makin tabah.
Org melayu lebih beruntung sebenarnya di Malaysia ini…
Dr Cassandra Cheung
Thursday, May 23, 2013 3:36:00 PM

Anonymous said…
1. First thing first.. The affirmative policy must stay.
2. UMNO must reform themselve. Their image has not changed for the better.
3. But UMNO is where Melayu take shelter from etc etc. as PKR is party which is as good as hopeless. They are party with no purpose & future.
4. Remember. This is Tanah Melayu and belongs to the Malay.
5. Melayu should not bent too low to accomodate the chinese.
Thursday, May 23, 2013 3:38:00 PM

Anonymous said…
Mampuslah artikel2 macam ni dah belambak2 kat dalam internet…. nak buat rasa ‘feel good’ je…
And wat kinda name is zaizul zaza zamaza zamzam?
Thursday, May 23, 2013 3:41:00 PM

Anonymous said…
Malays should think scientific as we move into an era of politics in which facts seem increasingly irrelevant..Look at how Ostad Anuar, Rafizi, Mat Sabu, Lim Guan Eng, Lim Kit Siang lied to unscientific young Malays during their PRU13 campaign..
Science is simply a powerful way of understanding what’s real and what isn’t, what’s true and what’s not. It can help us determine what works, what doesn’t, for whom, and under what circumstances.
A valid scientific theory is predictive, verifiable, and replicable
Dr Saripah Majnun
Petaling Jaya
Thursday, May 23, 2013 4:00:00 PM

Anonymous said…
” i pray that malays would not been marginalized in their own land”
i wonder who marginalize the malays?, the NEP is a policy legislated to help the (poor) malays. i think the question should be ‘- is the distribution fair or being abused’ or has NEP achieve its objective
Thursday, May 23, 2013 5:17:00 PM
eri said…
Pak SYed
Apahal Pak Mentri Kita nih yang pegi rampaih paper depa tu pe hal dah tak da kerja lain dah ka?? Adoooiii…dok buat unpopular decision la nie….bagi bangun depa skit Pak Syed….
Thursday, May 23, 2013 5:31:00 PM

Anonymous said…
Almost the same story like me! I ended up working in MNC though, thanks to my good grades and NEP policy. Why do I say NEP policy helped me get a job in MNC despite my excellent qualifications? I should get in on merit right?.
Do you honestly think that without Govt monitoring the Bumi quota, the MNC Chinese managers will employ Bumis? They will hide behind “meritocracy” excuses.
So what if your results are great or even better than the Chinese? They will then use subjective criteria like “leadership skills”, “communication skills” and all those crap to give the job to their own kind.
I think it is time Bumis realise that Chinese do not play fair. Bumis that want to give away their rights are very short-sighted. The Chinese will appeal to your sense of fairness but they themselves will not play fair. Don’t believe me? Try working in Chinese owned companies, then you will know the true meaning of meritocracy in their books. Chinese are hardcore racist. If you think they are colour blind, you must be borned yesterday.
Do not be fooled by their mulut manis. Shoe shine is their specialty. Bumis lembut hati and baik hati that’s why senang kena goreng. They must be laughing behind your back or maybe even infront of you! Speaking among themselves in their language that you don’t understand.
Thursday, May 23, 2013 5:38:00 PM

devilmaycare said…
I pun dulu jpa scholar jugak. 100pc gomen product. I actually graduated and am working in the profession that the gomen said i should. Many of my peers fell on the wayward side – never graduating or joined tabligh set. And yes, some didnt event need a scholarship but took it anyway. Millions were probably squandered as a result. I am grateful for the assistance. Since both my parents were teachers i probably deserved the scholarship due to the faithful service provided by my parents. Did i vote bn because i owe a debt to them? Not really because i figure ive paid the gomen back in spades and with interest through all the taxes ive paid. I voted for bn because anwar is an asshole!!! Hahahah
Thursday, May 23, 2013 5:50:00 PM

Anonymous said…
I am not a Malay, but I do agree with writer the affirmative policy should remain but the implementation should be revised otherwise it is going to be the demise of UMNO.
Thursday, May 23, 2013 6:05:00 PM
Alina Ariffin Mahmud said…
This comment has been removed by the author.
Thursday, May 23, 2013 6:13:00 PM

Anonymous said…
I am a grateful malay.the govt had given me a scholarship.my parents couldnt send me to a college. My stpm results wasnt so great but good enough since I was fr a small town.i was given a chance…im forever grateful.policy has weaknesses but its never too late to improvem build malay economy so we are not at the mercy of other race…
Thursday, May 23, 2013 6:34:00 PM

Anonymous said…
For the last sixty years at least Malays have been weakened by the confusing and conflict-ridden religious environment created by religious students trained in the wahhabi madrasahs and universities in the Middle East. For Malays, Islam makes our culture, therefore hopefully we all understand Islam correctly.
If the complain is that Malays don’t seem to be inclined to think through our problems rationally, it is because unfortunately for us, many of the ulama from these institutions (where participation is free of charge)were not trained in logical reasoning (mantiq), and hence their comprehension of jurisprudential principles is unduly compromised, yet they are well-known for their hasty and unfiltered juristic decisions. Radicalism such as the tragic Memali fanaticism is its violent manifestation. The wahhabi ulama are also deprived of the science of tasawwuf (cultivation of moral disposition and God -consciousness)since the wahhabis have ideologically rejected these time-honoured disciplines of the majoritarian Ash’ariyah Shafii Malay Muslims.
The net result of the accruing negative influences of these religious graduates, coupled with the liberal permissiveness of the entertainment media culture, is the slow but sure erosion of the Adab, Intelligence and Morality of the Malay people …
What does Malay cultural achievement look like?
Video: Prof. Syed Muhammad Naquib Al-Attas speaks with Sheikh HAmza Yusuf

Thursday, May 23, 2013 7:26:00 PM

Anonymous said…
See I told you. They don’t play fair. They will appeal to your sense of fairness (like what Dr Cassandra Cheung did above) to give away what little left you Bumis have. Sob stories like that will be circulated to make Bumis feel bad and weakened their resolve.
The urban younger generation who never know how hard life were before will definitely fell for the trap. They will then be the champion to abolish the Bumi rights forgetting their not so fortunate brethren.
Question: Apa lagi Cina mau?
Answer: Apa lagi lu ada?
Didn’t I say Melayu senang kena goreng?
Thursday, May 23, 2013 7:26:00 PM

Anonymous said…
10 orang anak Melayu kaya masuk MRSM, dapat scholarship, 10 orang anak Melayu miskin are deprived. All in the name of NEP. A line must be drawn somewhere to stop Melayu kaya from benefitting from the NEP – golongan Melayu kaya yang buat kenduri kahwin kat Dewan Hotel malu cakap Melayu tapi tak malu guna cable hantar anak pergi MRSM. Siapa cakap nak mansuh NEP. Kita kena stop orang Melayu kaya yang selfish, that’s all supaya orang miskin dapat peluang.
Fazilis
Thursday, May 23, 2013 7:29:00 PM

Anonymous said…
Correct me if I am wrong. I thought that the NEP was created to help the poor and in the form of colour blind. You don’t scrap a good policy. What we need is to make sure that the policy is implemented as what it suppose to do that is help the poor.
Rgds,
Baderol
Thursday, May 23, 2013 7:34:00 PM

AJ Pawanteh said…
“Most Malays” means 99%?
Then the following statement, “99% Chinese are rascists” would be right, by your reckoning?
Thursday, May 23, 2013 7:39:00 PM

Anonymous said…
I am a Chinese in my 60s. In the late 70s in a course held by Berkeley here in KL I was an up-and-coming exec mixing around with many up-and-coming tycoons who attended the course. I remember over the many tea breaks and the many lunch breaks, I voiced very loudly my support for the NEP and affirmative action. And for the record many of those who are now tycoons with titles like Tan Sri in front of their names, were in total agreement with me.
Even today, I am for affirmative action, for the Malays, for the Sabah and Sarawak natives.
I just wanted to put on record.
Thursday, May 23, 2013 7:52:00 PM

Anonymous said…
Aku ingat lagi. Tahun 70 an, apabila anak Melayu dapat masuk universiti, satu kampung tumpang bangga. Ibu bapa kepada anak Melayu itu apatah lagi. Kembang tersengih saja apabila ada orang cerita pasal anak dia. Tiap-tiap petang keliling kampung keluar besiar-siar nak suruh orang tegur, pastu boleh bukak cerita anak dia dapat masuk universiti. Sebelum berangkat ke bandar, diadakan kenduri kesyukuran dan dijemput seluruh orang kampung datang. Pada ketika itu, apabila dapat masuk universiti, tak kisah lah pengajian apa, adalah sesuatu yang amat besar bagi orang Melayu. Mendapat tempat di menara gading adalah impian dan cita-cita anak-anak Melayu pada waktu itu. Walaupun pada masa tu telah pun ada biasiswa, ibubapa yang risau anak-anak mereka tak cukup makan, dipajaknya tanah satu dua lot supaya anak-anak mereka dapat hidup selesa di bandar. Apabila tamat pengajian, dapat kerja yang bagus-bagus dan menetap pula di bandar-bandar besar, mereka ini tiba-tiba berubah. Dikutuk, dicaci makinya pula orang yang bertanggungjawab memberinya peluang sampai ke tahap tersebut.
These educated urban dwellers now feel superior. They feel special. They now start talking about discrimination, nepotism, cronyism, corruption, equality, meritocracy, racism and change. “”..Let’s go to the streets this coming Saturday and show them we are opposed to all of that..”.
The hard truth is my friend, the system you are opposed to is actually the same system which rolled down the ladder so people like you could climbed out from poverty.
Thursday, May 23, 2013 7:56:00 PM

Anonymous said…
If the affirmative policy was carried out correctly, bumis won’t have to work in non bumi companies, they would be a lot of successful bumiputra companies, where bumis would have to compete with bumis, thus encouraging meritocracy among bumis, if the affirmative policy was done right, the vicious cycle of poverty among the bumis would have ended. Instead the rich bumis were helped regardless of their qualification, while only a fraction of the poor qualified bumis were assisted. Better schools and teachers for the rural bumis! Another affirmative policy should be created, this time among the bumis, between the rich and poor.
Thursday, May 23, 2013 8:08:00 PM

Anonymous said…
My dad was able to sponsor all 5 of his children to universities in the UK and US in the 70s/80s.Way back in the early 70s, he started a tin mine on a Malay reserve land in Dengkil. My parents had to mortgage the house to get a loan from Bank Bumiputra,he was turned down a couple of times before he finally got it. My mum was the breadwinner in the early days, working as a typist in LLN then whilst my dad spent several years learning the mining trade from Chinese miners esp in Perak.Life was very difficult then and I remember dinners were usually sambal tumis ikan bilis and pucuk ubi. The nite of the recent election, I flew to Geneva to help take care of him in hospital. Although he was not able to talk he signaled to me to give him a piece of paper and pen as he wanted to write something down. What he wrote was’Parlimen Barisan?’Without the affirmative action my dad would not have had the opportunity to start his business and we are forever thankful for that. Until recently, he still flies each month to Tawau to keep an eye on his Oil palm plantation, purchased from the proceeds of his mining ventures. With a little help, the Malays can achieve so much tapi kena rajin,jangan lupa diri dan jangan sesekali lupa tuhan.
Thursday, May 23, 2013 8:32:00 PM

Anonymous said…
Nice.
Now go to read another Melayu who probably go through the same path at
http://rafiziramli.com/2013/05/an-open-letter-to-malaysians/
Sama sama kampung, sama sama belajar luar negara sama sama petronas
Thursday, May 23, 2013 8:34:00 PM

MelayuMacamKamu said…
I am one of the beneficiaries of the affirmative action too. Same thing went to overseas, got a degree or two and returned home to serve to the society and bla..bla..bla…
Trust me, during my entire schooling years back when I was in a foreign country, never have I met a single Dato’, Menteri or whatchamacallit the elite Malays sons or daughters that received scholarships. So, which university is this again ? Maybe SPRM may wanna look into this.
Oh! One more thing! When you are an immigrant, you have to work hard in whichever country that you migrated to. So, please be grateful and try not to make sad stories and take whatever that is not yours okay ?
Thursday, May 23, 2013 9:27:00 PM

Anonymous said…
I abhor the notion that I have to prove myself to be better than the Chinese or Indians. I detest the fact that there is this presumption that the Chinese speaks better English than the Malays.
And yes, I am a product of the NEP. And I am also a product of a national icon in Kuala Kangsar. Did I need the NEP? Probably not, as I was thought to be supremely confident in my abilities, sometimes blurring the line between being supremely confident and arrogant.
So, do we need to do away with the NEP? Answer is a firm NO. Why? Because its my god given birth right pursuant to the social contract that our forefathers agreed to to turn immigrants into citizens. The same way we agreed to their use of the Chinese and Indian language (compare this to Indonesia).
To do away with the NEP is to do away with speaking Chinese and Tamil. Everything comes with a price. Nothing is free or one way.
Since the Chinese are besotted with the notion of their “ancestors” the social contract was agreed to by all our ancestors. If they don’t like it now, tough luck. Maybe they should seriously consider the advice given recently by the YB Menteri Dalam Negeri.
To the dentist from a poor family in Johor, tough luck. Your generalization of Malays complaining all the time smacks of misplaced typical Chinese arrogance. A dentist you say? Pity you were not good enough to enter med school.
Panglima Talang.
Thursday, May 23, 2013 9:39:00 PM

Anonymous said…
Almost the same story like me! I ended up working in MNC though, thanks to my good grades and NEP policy. Why do I say NEP policy helped me get a job in MNC despite my excellent qualifications? I should get in on merit right?.
Do you honestly think that without Govt monitoring the Bumi quota, the MNC Chinese managers will employ Bumis? They will hide behind “meritocracy” excuses.
So what if your results are great or even better than the Chinese? They will then use subjective criteria like “leadership skills”, “communication skills” and all those crap to give the job to their own kind.
I think it is time Bumis realise that Chinese do not play fair. Bumis that want to give away their rights are very short-sighted. The Chinese will appeal to your sense of fairness but they themselves will not play fair. Don’t believe me? Try working in Chinese owned companies, then you will know the true meaning of meritocracy in their books. Chinese are hardcore racist. If you think they are colour blind, you must be borned yesterday.
Do not be fooled by their mulut manis. Shoe shine is their specialty. Bumis lembut hati and baik hati that’s why senang kena goreng. They must be laughing behind your back or maybe even infront of you! Speaking among themselves in their language that you don’t understand.
Sore Losers always …. When you don’t make it you say you are been unfairly victimized . What crab . It’s cos of this kind of negative attitude that you will always fall behind.
Thursday, May 23, 2013 10:12:00 PM

Anonymous said…
I was brought back to reality when later I joined Felda” … the reality in Petronas?
Thursday, May 23, 2013 2:21:00 PM
It is Well kept secret?? The truth is it is a reality show working there. Similiar to AF, Raja Lawak etc. you will be judged.. Pitching kelaut, punchline tade, tak pandai goreng… Then your fate is OUT..Sob..sob.. Your spm 10A ? You saved company 10M? That your problem…what more important is perception…That happens in the era of SlumberJack n Najib which depends on the so called con-sultan. Losing thousands of malay professional with this lousy rule wo any gain.
Thursday, May 23, 2013 10:14:00 PM

Anonymous said…
Dr Cassandra Cheung kata, “Org melayu lebih beruntung sebenarnya di Malaysia ini”
SALAH tu cassie, orang cina yang paling untung tumpang dinegara Melayu, diberi kerakyatan percuma FOC, dapat pendidikan, tidak dihalang langsung kemudian berjaya tanpa disekat oleh bumiputera
jika nak jadi rakyat Australia mesti memenuhi kriteria yang PANJANG lebar tak semudah yang dinikmati oleh sajuta “orang tanpa kerakyatan” yang papa kedana dan tak berpelajaran,
orang orang ini tidak diterima oleh british mahupun cina dan india.
cassie HARUS berterima kasih pada orang Melayu sampai dapat jadi doktor
Thursday, May 23, 2013 10:20:00 PM

Anonymous said…
I am happy for the Malays in Malaysia, teruskan perjuangan dan kekal bersatu. Jangan terpedaya dengan message meritocracy.
In Singapore,
There are housing quotas, ethnic minorities cannot occupy more than 20% of housing units.
50% of Singapore’s population are foreigners (not affirmative action?)
Read up on the Integrated Programme, students from top schools need not sit for O-level exams.
Obese soldiers receive extra help during training (kata meritocracy)
Apa kata buat perkhidmatan negara dua tahun satu kewajipan? Nak lihat juga cybertroopers berjuang dalam hutan.
Baca rencana Emmanuel Daniel yang lahir di Kuala Lumpur tentang erti majmuk, rumusannya Malaysia lebih bijak menggunakan bakat berbanding Singapura.
http://www.emmanueldaniel.com/?p=622
Dari Telok Blangah
Ke Tanjung Puteri
Jauh Di Mata
Dekat Di Hati
Salam Sayang Dari Singapura
Thursday, May 23, 2013 11:09:00 PM

Anonymous said…
What about the Indians? Help them too the land might be “Malay” but the Indians helped in the construction efforts and are poor having been left behind and forgotten except in election time when promises are bartered out and then forgotten once elections are over.
Thursday, May 23, 2013 11:19:00 PM

Anonymous said…
thnks for the post zaizul, a good read.
like zaizul, i have been a beneficiary of the policy having come from a humble background myself. i thank the forefathers who had the long term vision that social mobility is key to building a peaceful, stable nation. there need to be compromises made for the common good.
i can now afford to support my kids for their tertiary education; all without any scholarship. i did not apply for it, because i can now afford the choice and make the sacrifices that come with it.
the assumption by the non-bumi’s that bumi’s are CONTINUOUSLY seeking the easy support is NOT true.
bro, many of us are in fact VERY REASONABLE people who are very generous with the blessings of this land. i am sure your forefathers who first arrived on these shores can attest to that.
there was mention of a ‘timeline’ by one of the early posters.
yes, i would agree to that, but if and only if the economic opportunities of this country is truly level.
there is rampant and always present discrimination by the chinese in business opportunities in malaysia (in this so-called tanah melayu, how ironic)
the chinese practise cronyism, racism, and employ unfair competition rules in the business world -this is done very casually and taken as a fact of doing business in malaysia.
try opening a car workshop, a retail store, a bookshop, and soon you will be eventually squeezed out. the wholesalers of the business world are 99% chinese and they control the levers of business sustainability.
a bumi legal firm would find it hard or nearly impossible to serve a chinese company/bank/corporate entity. yes, this is a direct experience of my sibling in the legal world.
a bumi engineering consulting company would never win the job in a consistent manner. you know why ? the main contractor speaks chinese in project meetings.
the chinese are an industrious people. they work hard. but they only want to do business with their own kind.
they have all these informal business agreements that an outsider can never understand.(ironic and true, the bumi is considered an outsider in the commercial world, in their own land). they give their own kind good business terms, credits, competitive pricing that allows a SUSTAINABLE business to be built. the bumi contractor is dead after one business cycle !
the affirmative action policies is actually a very limited tool for corrective action.
the bulk of the economy of this country is actually out of reach of the affirmative action policies.
80% of the economy is laissez-faire and this is controlled by the chinese. nobody can break into that, unless you are chinese yourself.
so that timeline that was asked? well i would like to ask the same question too.
when can the chinese break up their kongsi’s, their business cartels, their family stranglehold on wholesalers, their control of goods imported?
if there is a clearly defined plan to truly create a level playing field in business, then we can talk timelines..
salam.
Thursday, May 23, 2013 11:23:00 PM

Anonymous said…
Brunai mana ada cina
Thursday, May 23, 2013 11:42:00 PM

Purple Haze said…
What the Malays can do to help other Malays is to pay back their Mara loans. That is a simple enough activity that can benefit others.
The huge number of defaulters shows either moral bankruptcy (refusing to pay) or poor selection of loan candidates (what was the loan used for that resulted in non-performance ?)
We must also acknowledge that there will always be rural areas because there will be people who choose to live the simpler life. They do not need a Starbucks or shopping mall in their neighbourhood.
Thursday, May 23, 2013 11:53:00 PM

Anonymous said…
looks like a lot of malays can be bribed by just being ‘praised’ as a liberal or modern malay, and then willing to work with those parties that want to kill the very system that change their life and may be others. like that cimb boss who are remote from hardship and yet wants to talk about doing away with affirmative action. yes, it sounds not fair but in nation building standpoint, we cant afford to leave communities behind just because they cant or incapable to make through. if we are part of this nation, we have to have team spirit. of course we need to get rid of abuse of the system and improve it.
Thursday, May 23, 2013 11:53:00 PM

Anonymous said…
Kudos to the writer of the success story but I must say Anonymous @3:41 is a bloody sour grape!
On the issue of education sponsorship, by right all government and GLC scholarships awarded should be made public to promote transparency! So people can check whose children get what and when.Sadly in Malaysia the word “transparency” is either not in our vocabulary or it’s a dirty word.
Friday, May 24, 2013 12:57:00 AM

Anonymous said…
There is poverty and hardship amongst all… Nak off tangen skit among pak arab Dan orang Brunei pun Ada yang Susah.. Negara Kita masih membangun Dan keperluan human capital yang skilled professional whatever is still very much needed. There is a lot of room for all to grow together… I’m a product of gomen assistance … Zaman trial spm dipilih untuk interview Oxbridge… Tak meet the mark… Lepas Spm dapat scholarship Dan saya bersyukur Dan Akan bersyukur untuk peluang tersebut sehingga akhir hayat saya…
Human resource planning Kena in sync dengan nkea n etc… All this govt assistance must continue… If go GH who are the majority of nurses??? If buat demo who are the ones uniform?? If go ambank who are the officers mostly???? If Sakit jantung gi emergency Kat pantai… Cuba flip catalogue of pakar pakar …mainly siapa??? Postman yang hantar statement credit card selalunya orang ….Kalau pergi showroom bmw selalunya dipenuhi orang apa?? Tuan syed I gi showroom VW Kat jalan ipoh the salesman tak mau Layan saya… Saya Nak tengok ke bettle Nak Pakai gi pasar… Dia Bo Layan gua
I pergi condo launch yang Harga berjuta ringgit bukan rupiah… Sales girl tak mau Layan saya…saya round nothing impressive.. Lepas I dah round baru salesgirl Mai Nak buat baik dengan saya… I cakap tak payah Nak sibuk Kat saya … Saya dah Ada 2 unit yang lagi mahal Dan besar … Baik u pergi cari client lain.. Ini tak masuk I punya standard … Apa masalah sebenarnya…??? The only time I nampak melayu Kena ampu habiis ialah Kat pasar taman tun… Bos Bos beli ini udang laut mari banyak cantik banyak manis rm70 sekilo… Banyak murah saya kasi Lu…
Military polis composition needs to looked into same goes for other skill sector…just like the prog yang Jadi part time teacher … Teach malaysia Kena also have tabung to collect beneficiaries who want to repay and send another student abroad… Buat amalam baik skit…
Friday, May 24, 2013 1:22:00 AM

Mr Malaysia Mahukan Keamanan said…
Assalamualaikum saudara Islam..
Hello Malaysian brothers n sisters..
I’m just a normal Malay guy who just finish undergraduate and I want to kick start my carrier and I believe it will fall apart if our nation is divided..
Please stop all of these fights..
I wish Malaysia will be a better place for young generations to achieve their dreams..
Congrats to Abg in the your post Mr Syed.. btw.. please stop all the fights for better Malaysia and humanity..
Be happy.. don’t fight..
Be happy.. don’t fight..
Be happy.. don’t fight..
Be happy.. don’t fight..
Just from a Malaysian to Malaysia.
-Peace-
Friday, May 24, 2013 1:33:00 AM

UltraMalay said…
I think NEP should be rejuvenate into more progressive economic policy towards the betterment for the Malay society.
And, stop giving scholarships to already rich people.
And, whoever say bad things to UMNO aumatically are racists because these ppl say bad thing to the Malays. And ppl who propose to stop the NEP also a racist.
And, who say Malays are lazy? I went the the ceremony to get BR1M myself without other ppl help. Stewpid racist!
And stop calling anyone who support UMNO a racist. Me myself is an UMNO member and a Malay, but I do f*ck Chinese girls. How come ppl call me racist?
And, why ppl say that I’m a racist just because I’m an ultramalay when ppl call Ultraman a hero? Isn’t that a racist thing?
And who say a Malay or an alumni of national schools system are bad at English? Listen to my English – “F*ck U”. How about that, English enough for you racist Chinese?
Friday, May 24, 2013 6:52:00 AM

Anonymous said…
I agree with the writer. I am an Indian Muslim and have never been discriminated by the government. I am also not the type who claim to be Malay to receive all the benefits accorded to Bumiputera. I was born and raised in a poor family in a kampung. I have started working while in primary school due to my family condition. I had to earn my dinner and lunch through hard work. However, I am blessed despite my rather stranger name, i obtained scholarship and succesfully finished my degree in local university. After that i managed to join a well respected goverment agency and had the oppoturnity to further my study in the UK. My SPM result was not really good but i turned around when i did my STPM. I realised that the government led by BN are truly fair and generous towards others. I doubt similar oppoturnities will be given if others lead the country. I will never forget the good deeds given to me. I respect the NEP policy as long as others are not discriminated as in my case. I think the government truly care for the need of poor students from other races despite implementing NEP. I have seen other able chinese and indian students given ample oppoturnities because of their situation. Surprisingly, these set of people never come forward to defend the government who had helped them to get to where they are today.
Friday, May 24, 2013 7:05:00 AM

Anonymous said…
i am a Malay
proud of it
trengganu born
poverty was everywhere in 70
ambition then, usher in cinema hall..best job in kg
no other ambition…no exposure
pluck out and drummed into my head
that i worth more then that
boarding school gave the better food
no hunger ..brain absorbed better
now a very successful professional
my plan which can be done in a zap
boarding school alumni( so called successful Malay middle clas)…legacy of Tun Razak
gather just like Chinese Guilds which they are good at
Presto almost a million member overnight
A sleeping giant can move mountain with that…..
but then again
Malay like to shoot themselves on the foot
Prosper and progress as they should
prove me wrong if you could
or Malay rather stay in the wood??
if Ruslan COULD…everyone would
me
Friday, May 24, 2013 7:34:00 AM

Anonymous said…
Saya pernah menjadi penjamin MARA seorang palajar utk belajar di Australia. Tanpa berita sekian lama tiba-tiba sampai surat dari MARA supaya saya lunaskan pinjaman kerana saya penjamin !!!
Bengkaknya hati, dah lah kita bantu jadi penjamin utk belajar kita pulak nak kena bayar hutang dia. Memang melayu ini tak pernah berterima kasih !!!
Lepas trace abangnya (seorang guru besar sekolah agama negeri selangor kini juga imam mesjid di PJ), dia pun hairan kenapa tak bayar kerana adiknya hidup agak mewah !!!
Lepas ‘bertukar kata-kata’ saya katakan saya hanya ingin hutang itu dijelaskan. Surat MARA pun berhenti. Hubungan saya dgn peminjam pun berhenti (tak pernah ada pun). Abangnya saya jumpalah kat mesjid kadang-kadang setakat salam.
Terima kasih – jauh sekali. Inilah hakikat kehidupan.
Hanya nak kongsi pengalaman menjadi penjamin pinjaman MARA utk belajar. Niat hati nak beri peluang utk anak melayu utk belajar lebih tinggi. Apakan daya ada juga melayu yg tidak tahu erti – TERIMA KASIH.
THANK YOU ALLAH.
THANK YOU ALLAH.
THANK YOU ALLAH.
THANK YOU ALLAH.
THANK YOU ALLAH.
THANK YOU ALLAH.
THANK YOU ALLAH.
Friday, May 24, 2013 7:37:00 AM

Anonymous said…
The newly formend govt after PRU 13 see many more faces in the Cabinet who are fr sabah & sarawak, who although not Malays are also pribumis and eligible to be rightful recipients of an Affirmative Policy. Over there basic infra is so bad even Najib and Muhyidin cried when they saw the conditions there. ( By the way I am a Malay who believes in Islam which preaches justice to all deserving mankind etc).
Yes, we still need an Affirmative Action policy. Ask the pribumis of Sabah & Sarawak if they dont want an Affirmative Policy. You peninsular guys are so insensitive to the plight of your brothers and sister from Sabah & Sarawak you should go vist them and see for yourselves their living problems.
And dont be so simplistic laa woi. The cost of building infrastructure over there is way much more expensive than to build it here. Just count for yourself how many nig . Deep amd croc infested rivers are there in Sarawak and imagine the cost of building the numerous bridges to complete the Pan Borneo highway. It will be a much more hugely expensive affair people!
As for those menteris and rich Malays and pribumis who lobby for scholarships for their children, SHAME ON YOU. Your children probably cringe in shame too for the scholarships- if you have infused into them any sense of fair play. Have you?
And worst of all shame on the very wealthy of this country who dont do much to help the poorer families around them who always face huge problems to try have a more decent life of some dignity. Whether you are pribumi or Chinese or Indian, if you are rich you should be doing something to help the poor that you know around you. The government is one thing, but what about yoir conscience? The worst kind of people are those who are wealthy enough to sponsor their kids to higher edu but make so much noise and accuse the govt of all sorts of injustice – as though they themselves are so just and humane and sensitive to the needs of fellow Malaysians not lucky enough .
Oh I can.almost hear these wealthy people protest – oh no, they cant help because they pay so much tax they cant afford any helping hand
Really? You never evade tax? You drive Bentleys, Cayenes, Lambos, Porsches, big huge SUVs and luxury vans that cars like the Bimmer and the Mercs look like cheap cars in comparison. lets all just ask the JPJ how many of the luxurious super expensive cars are now registered on our roads? You name it, Malaysians drive it. Even the Hummer is increasing fast on our roads.
How do you afford those huh? Aaaa dont tell me you persuaded some foreigners on the Malaysia my 2nd home programme to loan you their cars??? And did you all not register your big engined cars in Kuching or KK? Tax dodgers! Dont think the public is so stupid we cant see through you.
Friday, May 24, 2013 8:03:00 AM

Anonymous said…
UMNO Members First. Mana Melayu tak masuk UMNO gets Zilch…
Friday, May 24, 2013 8:12:00 AM
norman fernandez said…
I too believe in affirmative action. However, is it fair to other Malays to see Malay children of the rich and titled like Tan Sris and Datuk’s also obtaining schlarships meant for the poor Malays. In fact these rich Malays who benefitted should then help other Malays. Not, helping themselves. Surely, the poorer Malays deserve more.
One of the drawback of the affirmative policies is that those Malays who are capable and more deserving often have been overlooked in favour of the politically connected. The families and relatives of the politically connected it would seem to be getting the lion share and first in line when it comes to contracts and concessions.
Friday, May 24, 2013 9:03:00 AM

Anonymous said…
I am a product of NEP. I graduated from a top engineering school (university) in the US. Now I am holding a senior position in a MNC. Education is a stepping stone to my career today but without scholarship, I won’t be able to go to overseas. My father is not rich (kampung folk).
Without NEP, i do not think I will be where I am today.
I am grateful to Allah and to the government (to be frank UMNO).
Friday, May 24, 2013 10:08:00 AM

Anonymous said…
This is new malay dilemma,
on one hand, we talk about ‘ketuanan’ (strength) ,on the other hand we talk about NEP( design to address weaknesses)
Question: Do malays want to be tagged as the ‘weaker race’that need assistance forever?.Some of the ‘capable ones’ say No to NEP,but most of the ‘not so able ones’ say Yes
Friday, May 24, 2013 10:13:00 AM

Anonymous said…
ir. Hanafi Ali, as malaysian, non-malays, we are proud that u got scholarship to further your studies and achieve yr dream,,nobody should begrudge u, as what NEP is designed for- to help those who need help but not those who are capable financially and still got scholarship, this is wrong allocation of resources.One day,i hope in the future, the malay ppl are able to gain strength to strength and able to compete on level-plain field with everybody.That day will come, and you all will stand tall
Friday, May 24, 2013 10:22:00 AM

Anonymous said…
I also think NEP should be apply to all the poor, regardless of race
Friday, May 24, 2013 10:29:00 AM

Anonymous said…
saya seorang melayu saya belajar di sekolah kebangsaan, sekolah dan kelas saya pelbagai kaum, cikgu kelas saya berbangsa cina, dia selalu memberi tumpuan kepada pelajar bangsa dia sahaja dia ada memberi home tutor tetapi malang nya dia hanya membuka peluang kepada kaum nya sahaja cikgu sekolah yang lain pula mengambil sikap berkecuali, walaubagaimana masih terdapat satu dua guru melayu yang mengambil berat hal ini lalu mereka mengadakan group study untuk pelajar yang berminat dan alhamdulliah berkat usaha guru ini kami berjaya dalam hidup kami
Friday, May 24, 2013 11:37:00 AM

Anonymous said…
Saya bekerja di sebuah syarikat swasta kepunyaan bangsa cina, kerja yang susah dan teruk diberikan kepada kaum melayu dan india, manakala kaum mereka sendiri diberi gaji yang tinggi serta memakai kereta mewah.
kami bekerja 12 jam sehari semata-mata untuk mencari nafkah yang halal
towkay Cina syarikat selalu memarahi kami dengan berkata :
`ha ini melayu! lain kali lu kasi itu undi sama umno la! apa umno kasi lu duit tiap tiap-tiap bulan ka!’
ini lah nasib kami orang melayu di bumi kami sendiri.
Friday, May 24, 2013 11:50:00 AM

Anonymous said…
How Malays not to be marginalised? This is how and these were mentioned by Syed:
1. Get all the Malays aged 21 and above to be registered as voters if they are not. Do a big registration drive. Give them free KFC coupons or something. Or the Government should come out with a policy that all citizens above 21 automatically are registered as voters.
2. On polling day, make sure all the registered Malay voters go out to vote. Again give them KFC coupons or something. The Government can come up with a policy that one will be fined, summoned or penalised in some from if the Malays fail to vote.
3. Vote for the party that has the Malay interest in heart. Do not vote for parties who use the Malays to fool the Malays like some parties do.
4. The Malay MUST NEVER vote for DAP as DAP is for the Chinese and Indians. The Malays who are DAP members have sold their souls to the devil. The Chinese in DAP are using the Malay DAP members to their own advantage but the DAP Chinese will never allow the Malay DAP member to go up the ranks. I challenge the Malay DAP members to do this. Sampai kucing bertanduk la. Try to overthrow Lim Eng Guan if DAP is soooo democratic.
5. The Malay must think twice about joining PAS as it was a bit sick of Tok Guru, such an elderly, religious man to have said he will ludah on UMNO fellas who approach him to join up with BN. That really shows how ‘religious’ Tok Guru is. Not in the right state of mind no matter how much he hates UMNO. He became an old, sick man to my eyes when he uttered that.
6. For the time being, vote for BN and become UMNO member. Make the original party for Malays strong. Do not be disheartened by what goes on within the party. Every party has its own share of problems. No one party is free of problems. Express through your vote during party elections. But make UMNO strong. Breathe fresh air into UMNO. Join in and make the party strong. The only party that will take care of the Malays is UMNO.
7. Learn how to live as a Malay and let Malays live too. Do not be jealous of those higher ups. Strive to go up too. Do not let envy and jealousy bring disharmony among Malays.
And NEP will be kept alive and Malaysia will truly be the land of the Malays.
Friday, May 24, 2013 12:07:00 PM

Anonymous said…
Tambahan.. Bukan umno jer pas pun sama juga!!
Friday, May 24, 2013 12:22:00 PM

Anonymous said…
Tuan Syed, thanks for sharing this writing. Good to know that there are so many grateful Malays out there. For those ungrateful Malays, Mario Puzo said “Time erodes gratitude more quickly than it does beauty”.
Friday, May 24, 2013 12:44:00 PM

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

